Award announcements 2022

The inaugural 2022 Jacob A. Neufeld Best Paper Award was granted to "Safety and efficacy of repeat long-term incobotulinumtoxinA treatment for lower limb or combined upper/lower limb spasticity in children with cerebral palsy" by Petr Kaňovský, Florian Heinen, A. Sebastian Schroeder, Henry G. Chambers, Edward Dabrowski, Thorin L. Geister, Angelika Hanschmann, Francisco J. Martinez-Torres, Irena Pulte, Marta Banach, and Deborah Gaebler-Spira. This award goes to the best research paper published in JPRM during the previous 12 months as determined by a committee from the JPRM Residents and Fellows Program. Papers are evaluated on 1) the originality, novelty, and significance of the article to the field; 2) the relevance to clinical practice; 3) the rigor of the methodology and interpretation; and 4) the readability of the writing. Published in our annual Cerebral Palsy Special Issue for 2022, Dr. Kaňovský et al.'s article reports findings of a large phase 3 study on the safety and efficacy of a drug that is widely used in the field of pediatric rehabilitation. The award was presented during the 2022 AAPM&R conference by Kayla Williams, MD, the JPRM Lead Associate Fellow.

Heakyung Kim, MD, FAAPMR, University of Texas Southwestern, received the 2022 AAPM&R Distinguished Member Award. Dr. Kim is a well-respected researcher in the fields of cerebral palsy, mobility, and brain injury. We are honored to have her as one of the JPRM Cerebral Palsy Special Issue Guest Editors!

Teresa Massagli, MD, University of Washington Medicine, has been selected to receive the 2022 Gabriella Molnar Pediatric PM&R Lifetime Achievement Award.

Our congratulations to Heakyung, Teresa, and the authors of the Jacob A. Neufeld Best Paper!

Elaine L. Pico, MD, FAAP, FAAPM & R Editor-in-Chief