Announcement

American College of Clinical Pharmacology



1969

3 Ellinwood Court New Hartford, NY 13413-1105 Tel: (315) 768-6117 Fax: (315) 768-6119 E-mail: ACCP1ssu@AOL.com Web Site: www.ACCP1.org

PRESS RELEASE 6/14/02

The Regents of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology have announced the 2002 Recognition Awards that will be presented during the 31st Annual Meeting at the Crowne Plaza at Union Square, San Francisco, CA, from September 21–23, 2002. The awards will be presented during luncheon sessions on Saturday and Sunday, September 21 and 22, 2002. The recipients are as follows:

McKeen Cattell Memorial Award: Donald W. Graff, Pharm.D.

This award is made in honor of the memory of the late Dr. McKeen Cattell, first Editor of the Journal of *Clinical Pharmacology* and co-founder of the College. It is made yearly to an author publishing an outstanding research paper in the Journal, appearing during the calendar year preceding the Annual Meeting at which the award is presented. Dr. Graff's paper was entitled Effect of Fluoxetine on Carvedilol Pharmacokinetics, CYP2D6 Activity, and Autonomic Balance in Heart Failure Patients. J. Clin. Pharmacol. 2001: 41; 97-106.

Nathaniel T. Kwit Memorial Distinguished Service Award: Daniel L. Azarnoff, M.D.

This award is given in honor of the memory of the late Nathaniel T. Kwit, M.D., F.C.P., a founding Fellow of the College, who served as a Regent for 5 years, and as Treasurer for 20 years. The primary intent of this award is to recognize accomplishments of a general nature which benefit the field of clinical pharmacology. These may be in the area of teaching, administration, service with ACCP, long-term and wide ranging scientific studies having practical importance, and other service-related functions. It is differentiated from the Distinguished Investigator Award in that it is not intended to recognize any discrete area of scientific investigation, but rather, an overall contribution to the field.

Tanabe Young Investigator Award: Jeffrey S. Barrett, Ph.D., FCP

This award is given on a bi-yearly basis, beginning with the 1990 Annual Meeting. It is funded by a grant from Tanabe Research Labs, USA. The award is meant to recognize the scientific contributions of Announcement

a young investigator, usually less than 40 years of age, at a relatively early stage of his/her career, who has made unusual strides in research relating to clinical pharmacology and whose career shows promise of outstanding achievements.

Distinguished Investigator Award: David J. Greenblatt, M.D., FCP

This award is given yearly and is primarily intended to recognize superior scientific expertise and accomplishments by a senior investigator, usually involving a distinct area of research in basic or clinical pharmacology for which the individual is internationally known.

Honorary Fellowship Award: Chris J. van Boxtel, M.D., Ph.D.

This award is given yearly to recognize primary activities within the immediate domain of clinical pharmacology. The award recognizes overall contributions to the field, rather than for any particular scientific work, by a senior investigator or authority having a national or international reputation in the scientific, public service, legislative, governmental or other area of endeavor impacting on the field.

148