## Is there a future for informatics research? A strategy for the 21st century

A Cranfield conference in honour of Jack Meadows June 28th and 29th 1999

## List of delegates

Mr Mayur Amin	Assoc. Director Market	Elsevier Science Ltd.
	Research	
Mr Nigel Atkinson	UK Sales and Customer	Cambridge University Press
	Relations Director	
Mr Toby Bainton	Secretary	SCONUL
Mr Derek Barlow	Consultant	Cura Consortium
Professor Micheline Beaulieu	Head of Department of	Sheffield University
	Information Studies	
Mr John Blagden	Former University Librarian	Cranfield University Librarian
Professor Christine Borgman	Professor and Presidential	University of California at Los
	Chair in Information Studies	Angeles
Mr Roger Bowes	Chief Executive	ASLIB/IMI
Mr David Brown	Business Development Director	Ingenta Ltd.
Mr Peter Burnhill	Director	EDINA
Mr Robert Campbell	Managing Director	Blackwell Science Ltd.
Mr Tony Cawkell	Director	Citech Ltd.
Mr Neil Charlesworth	Executive Chairman	The Charlesworth Group
Professor Mel Collier	Director of Strategic and	Dawson Holdings PLC
	Operational Planning	U
Dr Bernard Dixon	Consultant	Former Editor New Scientist
Mrs Diana Dixon	Hon. Sec. LA Information	
	Services Group	
Professor Bernard Donovan	Former Secretary General	Association of Learned and
		Professional Society Publishers
		(ALPSP)
Dr Harry East	Senior Research Fellow	City University
Mr Mark Furneaux	MD European Operations	Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Professor Eugene Garfield	Chairman Emeritus	Inst. for Scientific Information
Mr. Alan Gilchrist	Editor, Journal of Information	Cura Consortium
	Science	St. t. Sorisoi vivilli
Dr Mark Goodwin	Editor	Open University Publishing
DI MILIK GOOGWIII	Danoi	Spen Shivershy I nousining

Ms Margaret Haines	Chief Executive	Library and Information Commission
Ms Linda Hajdukiewicz	Commissioning Editor	Bowker-Saur
Mr Tim Hamer	Managing Director	ISI Europe
Professor Frank Hartley	Vice-Chancellor	Cranfield University
Ms Helen Henderson	Consultant	The Gallery
Ms Ros Herman	Freelance Journalist	Sciencewords
Mr Michael Holdsworth	Press Business Development	Cambridge University Press
	Manager	
Mr Simon Inger	Managing director	Catchword Ltd.
Dr Donald King	Researcher, Former President	University of Michigan
	King Research	
Mr Derek Law	Librarian and Director of	University Strathclyde
	Information Strategy	
Dr Peter Leggate	Keeper of Scientific Books	Radcliffe Science Library Oxford University
Mr Chris Leamy	Consultant	The Gallery
Professor Yves F. Le Coadic	Information Science	Conservatoire National des
	Professor	Arts Memers
Professor Maurice Line	Information and Library	
	Consultant	
Mr Barry Mahon	Consultant	Former Executive Director of Eusidic
Dr Nigel Macartney	Director Educational	University of Ulster
,	Services	
Professor Alan MacDougal	Director of Information	Kings College London
č	Services and Systems	
Professor Cliff McKnight	Head of Department of	Loughborough University
C	Information Science	g g ,
Professor Jack Meadows	Information Science	Loughborough University
	Department	
Mr Ian Middleton	General Manager	EBSCO Information
	S	Services
Mrs Sally Morris	Secretary General	Association of Learned and
•	-	Professional Society
		Publishers (ALPSP)
Professor Charles Oppenheim	Professor of Information	Loughborough University
11	Science	
Ms Gillian Page	Consultant	Pageant Publishing
Mr Albert Prior	Publisher Relations Manager	Swets and Zeitlinger
Dr David Pullinger	Consultant	G
Ms Santa Rivelli	Marketing Manager	ISI
Dr Stephen Roberts	Senior Lecturer	Thames Valley University
Professor Stephen Robertson	Researcher	Microsoft Research Ltd.
Mr Dave Russon	Deputy Chief Executive	British Library
		•

Mr Fytton Rowland	Director of Undergraduate	Information Science
	Programmes	Department Loughborough
		University
Professor Brian Shackel	Professor Emeritus-retired	HUSAT Research Institute
		Loughborough University
Mr John Sumsion, O.B.E	Senior Honorary Fellow	Information Science
		Department
Mr Stephen Town	Deputy University Librarian	Cranfield University – RMCS
Mr Rollo Turner	Secretary	Association of Subscription
	•	Agents
Dr Sandra Ward	Director	TFPL Ltd.
Mr David Whitaker	Retired	
Mrs Suzanne Wilson-Higgins	Marketing Director	Blackwells Information
	C	Services
Sir Arnold Wolfendale, FRS	Emeritus Professor	University of Durham
Dr Hazel Woodward	University Librarian and	Cranfield University
	Director Cranfield Press	
Mrs Suzanne Wilson-Higgins Sir Arnold Wolfendale, FRS	Marketing Director  Emeritus Professor University Librarian and	Services

## **Dinner guests**

Professor William Brock	Emeritus Professor of	Leicester University
	History and Science	
Dr Heather Couper	Creative Director	Pioneer TV Productions
Mr Nigel Henbest	Director of Development	Pioneer TV Productions
Mrs Val Hartley		
Professor Phil Hutchinson	Head of School of	Cranfield University
	Mechanical Engineering	
Professor Raymond Hide	Emeritus Professor of	University of Oxford
	Physics	
Dr Joan Meadows		
Dr John Roche	Linacre College	University of Oxford
Prof. Peter and Mrs Joan Sneath	Emeritus Prof. of	Leicester University
	MicroBiology	

## **Sponsors**

**Ebsco Information Services** 

We are grateful to the following organisations for their support of this Conference:

we are granter to the rollowing organizations for their support of this content		
Aslib/imi	Elsevier Science Ltd.	
Blackwells Information Services	ingenta	
Blackwell Science	ISI Institute for Scientific Information	
Bowker Saur	OCLC Europe	
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts	Sirsi Ltd.	
Cambridge University Press	Swets Subscription Service	
Catchword	Taylor and Francis	
Dawson UK Ltd.	The Charlesworth Group	