done much to raise the awareness of the techniques used in chess programs.

In the words of one judge "by making CRAFTY available to anyone who wants it Bob has saved all would-be chess programmers months or years of effort, and allows enthusiasts to start from a point several leagues ahead of where most chess programmers used to begin".

THE 1996 ICCA JOURNAL AWARD

The Board of ICCA

The Board of ICCA is happy to announce the winner of the 1996 ICCA Journal Award for the best paper in this Journal by a first-time author. For the period April 1995 to March 1996, covering the issues Vol. 18, No. 2 up to and including Vol. 19. No. 1, this award has, on the recommendation of the ICCA Journal Board members, been granted to Michael Buro for his article: Probcut: An Effective Selective Extension of the α - β Algorithm, ICCA Journal, Vol. 18, No. 2, pp. 71-76. Michael Buro is entitled to three Volumes of his choice of the Journal's back issues. A brief scientific biography of the winner will be published in Vol. 20, No. 1.

THE IBM CHESS CHALLENGE REMATCH DEEP BLUE - KASPAROV

May 3-10, 1997 New York, USA

IBM's DEEP BLUE and World Chess Champion Gary Kasparov enter the ring for a second time.

The two super-giants will go head-to-chip at the Millenium on Broadway in New York City from May 3 to 10, 1997 at "The IBM Chess Challenge Rematch". At stake is a \$700,000 prize purse to the winner and \$400,000 to the loser.

The 1997 May rematch will be open to the public. Ticket sales will be announced early next year. For new announcements on the rematch and the location of the DEEP BLUE II site (available by September 1, 1996), stay tuned to www.ibm.com.

ICCA JOURNAL REFEREES IN 1996

The Editorial Board

The Editor-in-Chief and The Editorial Board would like to acknowledge the expert assistance of the following persons in refereeing submissions to the Journal during 1996. We hope to meet an equal willingness among the referees for the years to come.

J. Schaeffer L.V. Allis R. Hyatt H. Kaindl D. Slate I. Althöfer R. Staudte M. Campbell R. Korf T.A. Marsland K. Thompson S. Edwards R. Feldmann J. Nunn J. Uiterwijk L. Rasmussen A. Walker R. Casser J. Roycroft F. Gobet