CoE

Landscape Convention



The European Landscape Convention, drafted by the Council of Europe (CoE), was signed on 20 October in Florence, by ministers representing 18 of the Council's 41 member States. Initial signatories were Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Norway, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Spain, Switzerland, and Turkey.

The Convention requires parties to pursue policies ranging from strict conservation through protection, management, and improvement, to actual creation of landscapes. It will enter into force when 10 States complete ratification.

The English language version of the Convention is available on the CoE Website at http://conventions.coe.int/treaty/EN/cadreprojets.htm.

