Clinical Hemorheology and Microcirculation 34 (2006) 1–2 IOS Press

Preface

A message from the President of 6th Asian Congress for Microcirculation (ACM'05)

The 6th Asian Congress for Microcirculation (ACM'05) was held in the Tokyo International Forum under the auspices of the Asian Union for Microcirculation (AUM) and the Local Organizing Committee during the period of February 24 to 26, 2005 in conjunction with the 30th Annual Meeting of Japanese Society for Microcirculation (JSM'05), February 23 to 24, 2005. The slogan of this Congress was *Microcirculation for Human Life – from Basics to Clinics*. Since the first ACM in Osaka in 1994, every two years this congress has taken place in Beijing (China), Bangkok (Thailand), Bandung (Indonesia) and Manila (Philippines) throughout Asia, contributing to a remarkable advance in microcirculation research and its clinical application in Asia. This biennial scientific and social meeting of our Asian Union for Microcirculation (AUM) returned to Japan, but it was the first time in Tokyo.

It is great pleasure to have learned that a large number of participants attended this Congress from a variety of foreign countries, not only from Asia such as China, Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia and Korea, but also from Australia, New Zealand, USA, England, The Netherlands and Canada. Medical research and the practice of medicine are continuously changing and evolving. New developments in research and key advances in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of disease are constant. In recent years, studies on microcirculation have increasingly become essential to organ transplantation as well as to reproduction medicine. In these circumstances, I trust that the 6th ACM'05 in joint with the JSM'05 has contributed to search for bases for exploring a new therapy as well as for better understanding of pathophysiology of disease by mutual collaborations and free discussions among basic scientists and clinicians.

At the Opening Ceremony of the ACM'05, an address was made by each delegate from societies: Masaki Kitajima (Dean, School of Medicine, Keio University, Tokyo, Japan), Rui-Juan Xiu (AUM, President) (Ren-Zi Wang), Marcos Intaglietta (Microcirculatory Society, USA), Ed van Bavel (European Society for Microcirculation, President elect), Michael A. Perry (Australia and New Zealand Society for Microcirculation), and Srichitra C. Bunnag (Thailand Society for Microcirculation).

The precongress symposium: Asian Traditional Medicine (ATM): *Recent progresses based on scientific evidences* was organized by Hideyuki Niimi (Osaka, Japan) and chaired by Jing-Yan Han (Tokyo, Japan) and Suthiluk Patumraj (Bangkok, Thailand).

In the scientific program, the AUM Award Lecture was delivered by Robert S. McCuskey (Tucson, USA) and the other by Masaya Oda (Tokyo, Japan). Two State of the Art Lectures were presented by Norio Ohshima (Tsukuba, Japan) and by Marcos Intaglietta (La Jolla, USA). Five Plenary Lectures were given by Rui-Juan Xiu (Nai-Fen Liu) (Beijing, China), Srichitra C. Bunnag (Bangkok, Thailand), Ed van Bavel (Amsterdam, Holland), Minoru Tomita (Tokyo, Japan) and Michael A. Hill (Sydney, Australia). Seven Symposia were organized by each Society. *Free radicals and inflammation in microcirculation* (organized by the Japanese Society) was chaired by Toshikazu Yoshikawa (Kyoto, Japan) and Makoto Suematsu (Tokyo, Japan). *Diabetic microvascular disorder* (organized by the Thailand Society) was

1386-0291/06/\$17.00 © 2006 - IOS Press and the authors. All rights reserved

Preface

chaired by Prasit Futrakul (Bangkok, Thailand) and Masahiko Nakamura (Tokyo, Japan). *Recent advance in microvascular medicine* (organized by the Chinese Society) was chaired by Renzi Wang (Beijing, China) and Naifeng Liu (Nanjing, China). *Cellular communication within the microcirculation* (organized by the Australia and New Zealand Society) was chaired by Michael A. Hill (Sydney, Australia) and Chris Triggle (Melborune, Australia). *Blood substitutes and microvascular function* (organized by Marcos Intaglietta, USA) was chaired by Eishu Tsuchida (Tokyo, Japan) and Marcos Intaglietta (La Jolla, USA). *Angiogenesis in development, growth and wound healing* (organized by the Australia and New Zealand Society) was chaired by Chan-Ling Tailoi (Sydney, Australia) and Christopher J. Jackson (Sydney, Australia). *Microcirculation in health and disease: selected clinical applications* (organized by the AUM-Philippines Chapter) was chaired by Ricardo T. Quintos (Manila, Philippines) and Chiyoji Ohkubo (Saitama, Japan). Free Communications divided into sixteen categories were all given by oral presentation. Four ACM Luncheon Seminars were held in lunch hour.

At the Closing Ceremony, the AUM Award was granted to Robert S. McCuskey (Tucson, USA) and to Masaya Oda (Tokyo, Japan) from the AUM Executive Committee. The Research Awards were given to Bao-Liang Sun (Shandong, China) and Supathra Amatyakul (Bangkok, Thailand) from the ACM'05 Organizing Committee. The Travel Awards were given to Pan-Feng Fu (Beijing, China), Iain McSherry (Bath, England), Adolfo Chavez-Negrete (La Jolla, USA), Kazutaka Tokita (Kumamoto, Japan) and the University of Philippine group (Manila, Philippine) from the ACM'05 Organizing Committee. The Appreciation letters were presented to Jun Inoue (Congress secretariat & Treasurer), Norio Tanahashi (Secretary general), Jing-Yan Han (Secretary general) and Hiroshi Nagata (Secretary general) from the President of ACM'05.

Masaya Oda

September 1, 2005

Masaya Oda, M.D. President of the ACM'05 & JSM'05 Organized Center of Clinical Medicine, and Dept. of Internal Medicine, Sanno Hospital, International University of Health & Welfare, Tokyo, Japan

This volume is the Proceedings of ACM'05, which includes 47 papers selected from all presentations at AUM Award Lectures, State-of-Art Lectures, Plenary Lectures, Symposia and Free Comunications and Precongress Symposium during the ACM'05. We would like to thank all contributors who submitted their manuscripts within the time-limit, and also to the reviewers who reviewed all the manuscripts submitted. We would also like to express our heartfelt thanks to Dr. Jing-Yan Han (Tasly Microcirculation Center, Peking University Health Science Center, Beijing, China), Dr. Jun Inoue (Sanno Hospital, Tokyo, Japan) and Dr. Hidekazu Suzuki (Kitasato Institute Hospital, Tokyo, Japan) for their contributions to the publication of these proceedings. Finally, our thanks should extend to Dr. Junji Seki (National Cardiovascular Center, Osaka, Japan) and Mr. Xiang-Shun Xu (Tasly Microcirculation Center, Peking University Health Science Center, Beijing, China) for their continuous assistance of the editing work.

Editors Masaya Oda (Tokyo, Japan) Norio Tanahashi (Saitama Japan) Hideyuki Niimi (Osaka, Japan and Beijing, China)