CLINICAL HEMORHEOLOGY, Vol. 8, pp. 281-282, 1988 0271-5198/88 \$3.00 + .00 Printed in the USA. Copyright (c) 1988 Pergamon Press plc. All rights reserved.

FIFTH EUROPEAN CONFERENCE ON CLINICAL HEMORHEOLOGY

PREFACE

The Fifth European Conference on Clinical Hemorheology was held at Bordeaux, France from 29 June to 1 July, 1987. Its Presidents were P. Boivin and J.-F. Stoltz. Its Scientific Secretariat was M. R. Boisseau. The Editors of the Proceedings of the Conference are M. R. Boisseau and A. L. Copley. This issue presents Part I of the Conference Proceedings. It contains two of the five Plenary Lectures, the texts pertaining to The Fåhraeus Award, given to Jean-François Stoltz, and those pertaining to The A. L. Copley Lecture for Young Investigators in Clinical Hemorheology, awarded to Anne Chabanel. Contributions of five Symposia are included. are six out of nine communications of the Symposium 'Angiology and Hemorheology', chaired by H. Boccalon and B. Fagrell; one of nine communications of the Symposium 'Vessel Wall-Blood Cell Rheology', chaired by J. P. Cazenave and L. V. McIntire; five out of six communications of the Symposium 'Rheology of Renal Diseases', chaired by H. Schmidt-Schönbein and M. Gueguen-Duchesne; seven out of eleven communications of the Symposium 'Red Cell/White Cell Subpopulations', chaired by J. C. Healy and J. Martins E. Silva, and three out of eight communications of the Symposium 'Epidemiology and Hemorheology', chaired by G. D. O. Lowe and E. Ernst. This issue also contains one Poster Communication.

In forthcoming issues we shall publish the other Parts of the Proceedings, soon after the manuscripts are received by the Executive Editorial Office. We trust that the Authors of the remaining Plenary Lectures and Communications of any of the Symposia will submit their manuscripts without delay for publication in subsequent Parts of the Proceedings.

We also welcome the publication of Free Communications and Poster Communications presented at the Bordeaux Conference and encourage the Authors to submit them to an Editor of their choice.

M. R. Boisseau

A. L. Copley