CLINICAL HEMORHEOLOGY, Vol. 8, pp. 3-5, 1988 0271-5198/88 \$3.00 + .00 Printed in the USA. Copyright (c) 1988 Pergamon Journals Ltd. All rights reserved.

EDITORIAL

BIORHEOLOGY IN ITS TWENTY-FIFTH YEAR OF PUBLICATION

BIORHEOLOGY celebrates, with this issue, its twenty-fifth year of publication by Pergamon Press.

This year happens to be the fortieth year since the foundation of Pergamon Press by Robert Maxwell who, on 10 June 1988, will turn sixty-five. A Special Tribute to Robert Maxwell on this happy occasion is given separately by one of us (A.L.C.) in the next pages.

As is related in the Tribute to Robert Maxwell, he had in 1959 the idea to start an international journal pertaining to the new science of biorheology. This led to the foundation of the journal BIORHEOLOGY with Alfred L. Copley and George W. Scott Blair as Editors-in-Chief.

The first issue of BIORHEOLOGY was published in July 1962, while its second issue appeared in April 1963. Although four issues comprised one volume, it was not until volume 9 in 1972 that BIO-RHEOLOGY was published regularly as a quarterly. The reason for the delays was the scarcity of communications in biorheology due to its youth as an organized science. This demonstrates the crucial role which the journal BIORHEOLOGY played in the development of the science of biorheology. Beginning with volume 11, BIORHEOLOGY became in 1974 a bimonthly journal.

The appearance of the first issue of our twenty-fifth volume is thus, for us, a very special occasion, which we would not mark more suitably than by recalling the names of our first team of Editors, the outstanding persons who helped us to get started. Besides Alfred L. Copley (USA) and George W. Scott Blair (UK), we are proud to list the names of our first Editors: Robin Fahraeus (Sweden),

EDITORIAL

Maurice Joly (France), Aharon Katchalsky (Israel), Syoten Oka (Japan), and Hans H. Pfeiffer (F.R. Germany).

Beginning with its first issue, BIORHEOLOGY has an Honorary Editorial Advisory Board. Its members are not involved in active editorial duties. They are consulted whenever the need arises. The original members of the Advisory Board were the following prominent persons: R.D. Allen (USA), J.A.C. Butler (UK), A.M. Freudenthal (USA), R.D. Harkness (UK), H. Hartert (F.R. Germany), N. Kamiya (Japan), M.H. Knisely (USA), A. Loewy (USA), D.A. McDonald (UK), R.G. Macfarlane (UK), D. Mazia (USA), G.E. Palade (USA), R.D. Preston (UK), S. Seno (Japan), B. Tamamushi (Japan), P. Weiss (USA), K. Weissenberg (UK), and B.H. Zimm (USA).

BIORHEOLOGY was printed in typeset from 1962 to 1973. The printing of the Journal then went over to camera-ready offset procedure in order to improve speed of publication. At this stage a new editorial policy was introduced which transferred the authority of handling the review and acceptance of manuscripts to the individual Editors. The Editorial Board had to be considerably enlarged to its present size to insure the smooth flow of submitted manuscripts.

George W. Scott Blair retired in 1978 from his position due to further deterioration of his failing eyesight and Alex Silberberg (Israel) became Co-Editor-in-Chief in 1980.

This Issue is dedicated as a Festschrift to Syoten Oka to honor him on the occasion of his eightieth birthday. Syoten Oka has been an Editor of BIORHEOLOGY since its foundation, as mentioned above. It is with deep regret that we learn he can no longer be active in this capacity. We also had to accept the resignation of Y.C. Bert Fung and Richard Skalak from the panel of Editors. They have found that changed circumstances no longer permit them to assist us as in the past. We all owe these three Editors a particular vote of thanks. Their input will be greatly missed.

In this special issue we commemorate the late Robert Gwyn Macfarlane, F.R.S., who died on 26 March 1987 at the age of seventynine, with a personal testimony by one of us. Gwyn Macfarlane played in 1958 and 1959 an important role in the organization of the science

Vol. 8, No. 1

EDITORIAL

of biorheology, as is also briefly mentioned in the Tribute to Robert Maxwell.

We thank the following Editors, whose terms come to an end: J.F. Gross, Y. Hiromoto, G.F. Oster, M. Tazawa and B. Warburton.

We are deeply saddened that George W. Scott Blair died on 30 September 1987 at the age of eighty-five, at his home in Iffley, Oxford. A full obituary and an appropriate tribute to this outstanding scientist and wonderful friend will appear in the following issue.

Since BIORHEOLOGY first started publishing, activities in the different fields of the science of biorheology have spread remarkably. The International Society of Biorheology was founded in 1966 during the First International Conference on Hemorheology, held at the University of Iceland, Reykjavik. It was originally named The International Society of Hemorheology, but during its Second International Conference, held at the University of Heidelberg in 1969, it was expanded to include all fields of biorheology and accordingly renamed The International Society of Biorheology.

The Journal BIORHEOLOGY became the Official Journal of the International Society of Biorheology. This was in 1972 during the First International Congress of Biorheology, held in association with the VI. International Congress on Rheology at the Université Claude Bernard and the National Institute of Applied Science in Lyon, France. Since then a large number of national societies, beginning with the foundation of the Japan Society of Biorheology in 1977, have become established and associated with our Journal. In 1981, it was found necessary to accomodate an increasing number of communications in the field of clinical hemorheology by creating CLINICAL HEMORHEOLOGY. It is, as its subtitle indicates, 'A Companion Journal to BIORHEOLOGY' and has A.L. Copley and Siegfried Witte as Editors-in-Chief.

Judging by the rate of progress and from the advancement in all fields of the science of biorheology, the future of BIORHEOLOGY looks very bright.

Alfred L. Copley

Alex Silberberg