BIORHEOLOGY, 23; 565-566, 1986 0006-355X/86 \$3.00 + .00 Printed in the USA. Copyright (c) 1987 Pergamon Journals Ltd. All rights reserved.

SIXTH INTERNATIONAL CONGRESS OF BIORHEOLOGY

POISEUILLE GOLD MEDAL AWARD CEREMONY

INTRODUCTION

Donald Elliott Brooks President, Sixth International Congress of Biorheology

It is a great pleasure to open this award ceremony and to introduce the presentation of the Poiseuille Gold Medal. This medal is the highest honour the International Society of Biorheology bestows upon practicioners of our science. The awardees to date comprise a list of outstanding scientists who have made major contributions to biorheology. The previous winners, and the venues of the Congresses at which the medals were presented, are:

196	6 (Reykjavik)	Robin Fahraeus
196	9 (Heidelberg)	George W. Scott-Blair
197	2 (Lyon)	Alfred L. Copley
197	5 (Rehovot)	Syoten Oka
197	8 (La Jolla)	Maurice Joly
198	l (Tokyo)	Alexander Silberberg
198	3 (Baden-Baden)	Hellmut Hartert

This year, by vote of the Council of the Society, the Poiseuille medal is being awarded to Y.C.B. Fung for his outstanding contributions to

biomechanics and biorneology. I would now like to call on Harry Goldsmith, President of the International Society of Biorheology, to present the Laudatio.