## 1

## Welcome

Dear Colleagues and Friends,

It is our great pleasure to welcome you to the 16th International Conference of the European Society for Clinical Hemorheology and Microcirculation (ESCHM) and the 30th annual conference of the German Society for Clinical Microcirculation and Hemorheology (DGKMH) being held as a joint meeting scheduled to take place from June 18th–21th 2011 in Munich, Germany.

As president of the Conference I am pleased to welcome the working groups of ESCHM/DGKMH, the members of the advisory committee as well as non-European scholars in the field of clinical hemorheology and microcirculation to participate in the conference by sending in proposals for topics, lectures, symposia, oral communications and posters.

This is the fourth time that Germany will be hosting the International Conference of the European Society for Clinical Hemorheology and Microcirculation (ESCHM). The first one was organized by Holger Schmid-Schönbein in Baden-Baden, the second one by Albrecht Ehrly in Frankfurt, and the third one by Friedrich Jung in Dresden.

Our aim is to tie in with the successes of the previous meetings. We hope that our current scientific program will present an overview of the actual developments in clinical hemorheology and microcirculation and pave the ground for fruitful interdisciplinary discussions. We hope that you will not only enjoy the scientific program, but also the social part of the meeting and the ambience of the beautiful city of Munich. During the conference, an award ceremony will be held for the Fåhraeus Medal, which is assigned according to the rules stated in the constitution of the society in recognition of scientific excellence in the field. I am honoured to be able to welcome such distinguished scientists in Munich, Germany.

Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Dirk André Clevert, President of the 16th Conference of the ESCHM

Prof. Dr. Nadia Antonova, President of the European Society for Clinical Hemorheology and Microcirculation

Prof. Dr. Friedrich Jung, Past-President of the European Society for Clinical Hemorheology and Microcirculation

Prof. Sandro Forconi, Honorary President of the European Society for Clinical Hemorheology and Microcirculation