## Welcome address

Dear participants in the 14th Conference for Clinical Hemorheology and Microcirculation, dear colleagues and friends,

It is a privilege and a great pleasure for me and my organizing team to invite you to the 14th Conference for Clinical Hemorheology and Microcirculation in Dresden from the 27th to the 30th of June 2007.

As the president of the European Society I am happy to welcome the European National Societies and working groups, the members of the advisory committee as well as non-European scholars in the field of clinical hemorheology and of microcirculation to participate in the conference by sending in proposals for topics, lectures, symposia, oral communications and posters.

This is the third time that Germany will be hosting the European conference. The first one was organized by Holger Schmid-Schönbein in Baden-Baden, the second one by Albrecht Ehrly in Frankfurt. I enjoyed both important meetings and hope that our current scientific program will present an overview of the actual developments in basic and clinical hemorheology and microcirculation and prepare the ground for fruitful interdisciplinary discussions. We hope that you will enjoy not only enjoy the scientific program, but also the social part of the meeting and the ambience of the beautiful city of Dresden.

During the conference, an award ceremony will be held for the Fåhraeus Medal, which is assigned according to the rules stated in the constitution of the society in recognition of scientific excellence in the field. I am honoured to be able to welcome such distinguished scientists in Dresden, Germany.

On this occasion the members of the organizing committee would like to thank in advance the many highly esteemed speakers and chairpersons for their enthusiasm in participation and their valuable contribution on this meeting.



Fig. 1. Five Fåhraeus medalists meeting during the 14th Conference for Clinical Hemorheology and Microcirculation in Dresden: Sandro Forconi, Holger Schmid-Schönbein, Herb Meiselman, Mike Rampling and Albrecht M. Ehrly.



Fig. 2. Meeting of the past and the present President of the European Society for Clinical Hemorheology and Microcirculation during the Gala Evening.

We are looking forward to a lively discussion leading to new ideas and cooperations for future scientific work.

Friedrich Jung
President of the European Society for
Clinical Hemorheology and Microcirculation